Virtual MachineVM Snapshot ManagementSnapshot Basic Operations

Revert to a Snapshot

Reverting a VM to the selected snapshot overwrites the existing data.

  1. In the navigation pane, choose Inventory > VM and Host.

  2. Select a target VM and click Snapshot.

  3. On the Snapshot tab, select a snapshot point and click Revert.

  4. In the Revert Snapshot? dialog, set the following parameters:

    • Recovery Method: Support full recovery and custom recovery

      • Full Recovery: A full recovery restores both the VM data and disk sequence, which may attach the previously detached disks or detach existing disks.

      • Custom Recovery: Select disks for recovery. During recovery, only data from the selected disks is restored, but the disk sequence is not restored.

        If a disk in the snapshot has been detached, it is currently not supported for recovery.

    • Power Status: Choose whether to automatically power on the virtual machine after reverting the snapshot.

  5. Review the configuration and click OK.

    • Reverting a VM to the selected snapshot automatically powers off the VM and overwrites the existing data.

    • If the number of NICs or CD/DVD drives differs from the snapshot configuration, any removed NICs or CD/DVD drives after the snapshot creation will be attached, and any newly added ones after the snapshot creation will be removed.

    • When restoring a memory snapshot, if the memory snapshot contains IP or MAC addresses that are currently in use by other VMs, resolve conflicts before restoring the snapshot.

      If you force revert, the platform will handle conflicts as follows:

      • Conflicting IP addresses: Keeps the IP addresses from the snapshot and you need to manually modify these IP addresses after restoration.
      • Conflicting MAC addresses: Keeps the MAC addresses from the snapshot but disables affected NICs after restoration.