What is the difference between host maintenance mode and deactivation?
Feature description
-
Maintenance mode:
- When a host enters maintenance mode, you can power it off and perform repairs.
- If the host in maintenance mode uses Local Storage, the virtualization platform stops all virtual machines running on that host.
- If the host in maintenance mode uses shared storage, virtual machines are automatically migrated to other hosts.
-
Deactivation:
- After a host is deactivated, existing resources on it are unaffected, but the host is not available as a candidate host when allocating new resources.